Little Richard | Southern Child (RSD Black Friday 11.27.2020)

Little Richard | Southern Child (RSD Black Friday 11.27.2020)

Sale price$19.99
Sold out

Cardinal+ Members get free shipping on all orders to the USA. Click to learn more.

Pickup currently unavailable at Storefront

Little Richard | Southern Child (RSD Black Friday 11.27.2020)


Pickup currently unavailable

962 Baxter Avenue
Louisville KY 40204
United States

Following 1971's King Of Rock And Roll, Little Richard did something no one would have expected-he allowed his up-til-then, unrecognized country-rock leaning to emerge. Further, unlike it's predecessor, all 14 songs on Southern Child were written or co-written by Richard. While there is the funk, rock and soul one would expect from Richard during this period, Southern Child was a predominantly country-rock affair. And while Little Richard had proven he could master any genre, the label decided to shelve the album, leaving it unissued until the tracks appeared on a long out of print label retrospective in 2005. Recorded in the Spring of 1972 in Los Angeles, the album was recorded, mixed, mastered and handed into the label. It was given a catalog number and cover art was designed, but Reprise opted instead to release The Second Coming in it's place. Both albums were recorded with Bumps Blackwell in the producer chair, at around the same time, but the reasons Southern Child was left behind are lost to time. Perhaps the label felt Little Richard's audience wouldn't follow him into unfamiliar musical territory regardless of their artists' desire to explore. Now finally, Southern Child appears for the first time the way Little Richard intended it. The album's 10 tracks are augmented by 4 bonus tracks on CD.


  • 1 California (I'm Comin')
  • 2 If You Pick Her Too Hard (She Comes Out of Tune)
  • 3 Burning Up with Love
  • 4 Ain't No Tellin'
  • 5 Last Year's Race Horse (Can't Run in This Year's Race)
  • 6 Southern Child
  • 7 In the Name (Version 3)
  • 8 Over Yonder
  • 9 I Git a Little Lonely
  • 10 Puppy Dog Song
  • 11 In the Name (Version 4, Take 1, False Start)
  • 12 In the Name (Version 4, Take 2)
  • 13 In the Name (Version 4, Take 3)
  • 14 Sneak the Freak

Product Reviews